Makeup Tutorial fea. MUG’s “Secret Garden” Eyeshadow!

Hey everyone!

Today I am doing a tutorial using Makeup Geek’s single eyeshadow in “Secret Garden”. I love this shadow so much I dedicated an entire tutorial to it. I listed all the products I used on my face below just in case, but the focus here is the eyes. I feel like the look seems hard to achieve, but I only used three different eye shadows to create the actual lid look (not including the brow/inner corner highlight). That is why I love using metallic shadows, they make the look seem way more difficult than it really is. The hardest parts of this look is to remember to keep the blending low, to add in the darker crease color slowly and blending! So lets get started!

IMG_3926

  • Primer- I place Maybelline’s “Baby Skin Instant Pore Eraser” on my nose and the areas around my nose to fill in my pores and then I put NYX’s “Photo-loving Primer” on the rest of my face.
  • Eyebrows- NYX Micro Brow Pencil in Espresso.
  • Foundation- Revlon Colorstay Whipped Foundation in 160 Rich Ginger.
  • Concealer- Revlon Colorstay Concealer in 03 Light Medium.
  • Setting Powder- Rimmel Stay Matte Pressed Powder in Transparent.
  • Bronzer- Jane Cosmetics Bronzer in Give.
  • Contour- Bahama Mama Brozer by theBalm Cosmetics.
  • Blush- MAC’s Pro Longwear Blush in Blush All Day.
  • Highlight- E.L.F’s Baked Highlighter in Moonlight Pearls.
  • Eye Primer- MAC’s Eye Prep + Prime in Medium Dark.
  • Eye Shadow- This was the easiest eye shadow look ever! Since the MUG shadow does all the work, you just need to place down a transition shade and use the crease color to blend out the lid and you’re done!
    • Transition Shade- I used a Morphe Brushes  single shadow in Deep Skin/ES13 to help the colors blend gradually to the brow bone.
    • Lid- I packed on Makeup Geeks Secret Garden all over my lid. This shadow is described as an espresso based with teal reflects in it, but I can also see purple in it too. So I decided to use a purple crease color so I would get the teal/blue/purple/slightly pink appearance and I absolutely LOVE it. If you have MAC Fix +, I’d suggest you use it to get the most out of the eyeshadow. I don’t have that mist, but if I did it would’ve made the process easier.
    • Crease/Outer V- I used a Morphe Brushes single shadow in Secretive/ES71. It’s a beautiful purple shade with a pinky/red undertone. I used that on the outer V of my eyes and dragged it into my crease, I also placed some on the inner corners as well. My tips for using dark shadows is to apply a little at first and add a little bit more at a time to increase the intensity. Don’t plop a bunch of shadow down at once, it’ll make blending so much harder. Also, keep the crease shadow low! When you bring purple too high up, you can make your eyes look bruised. Once I placed the purple down, I would dip my brush back into my transition shadow to help blend out the purple and repeat.
    • Brow Bone Highlight- “Skimp” from the Naked 2 Basics palette.
    • Inner corner highlight- Mary-Lou Manizer from theBalm cosmetics.
    • Lower Lash lines- I smudged “Secretive” along my lash line, smudged a little bit of Secret Garden on top and then blended it out with the transition shade of Deep Skin. I used NYX Tres Jolie Gel Pencil Liner in Pitch Black along my waterline and set that with any black eyeshadow because I have the most watery eyes ever.
    • Eye Liner- Maybelline’s Eyestudio gel liner in Blackest Black.
  • Mascara- Too Faced Better Than Sex Mascara.
  • Lip Color- I didn’t have one on yet in this picture, but any nude color would do!
  • Setting Spray- NYX “Dewy Finish”Long Lasting setting spray.

This is probably my most favorite look I’ve ever done, I just love metallic eyeshadows because they give you the option of which color you’d like to emphasize, if not all of them. I could use a matte blue or green in the crease and get a completely different eye look which just amazes me! And as I mentioned before, using these multi-colored metallic eyeshadows makes your look appear more difficult when, in reality, it’s super simple. Thank you for reading and for chatting with Jack! Leave your thoughts/comments below!

I post every Saturday (well I try to!). Please follow my blog,instagram andtwitter  if you haven’t already!

Email me for business inquiries: Mjacksbeauty1225@gmail.com

10 thoughts on “Makeup Tutorial fea. MUG’s “Secret Garden” Eyeshadow!

  1. I always love to wear dark coloured eye shadows when I’m on my evening date look and your eye makeup looks absolutely gorgeous and I’m also so impressed with your makeup products lists too.

Leave a Reply

